Tatak OrCom, Tatak Tagumpay!

ImageImageFebruary 6, 2013

As a proud OrCom alumnus, I was indeed very grateful to get invited to deliver a talk before high school students about the degree program and share my UP-OrCom story to them. It was truly an honor to inspire them, especially those who have the potential to excel in the field of organizational communication.

My talk entitled Tatak Tagumpay, Tatak OrCom was a part of “Tatak OrCom”, a PR campaign implemented by a group of junior UP-OrCom students to introduce the degree program to high school students of Philippine Normal University Center for Teaching and Learning (PNU-CTL). I talked not only of my own tagumpay but the tagumpay of the OrCom program in producing graduates who now play an active role in the corporate world, academe, government and community-building.

Before I accepted the invitation as guest speaker, I was apprehensive because at present, I am a full-time law student who is not to be considered yet as an OrCom practitioner. But I realized that an OrCom graduate does not need to become a practitioner to talk about his degree program. OrCom is not a mere course in college. It’s a lifestyle – a lifestyle I chose to embrace.

Besides, it is never difficult to share success stories about the degree program and its alumni. My batchmates and the graduates from the batches ahead of us have landed jobs that allow them to use their knowledge and skills in organizational communication and become productive in their chosen fields of specialization. Truly, they are now a very valuable part of the nation’s workforce, as well as that of the globalized workforce.

After sharing success stories of the OrCom program, I told the students how my training in OrCom is helping me excel in law school. Of course, the more obvious OrCom skills that are of great help to me in my study of law are reading comprehension, and written and oral communication. I reminded them however that even though this skill set is part and parcel of what a student will learn from the program, there are still a lot of other more important things that OrCom offers.

I ended my talk by telling them two “Tatak OrCom” that I think are most manifest in me: (1) thinking out of the box and (2) giving value and respect to my significant relationships.

OrCom taught me (compelled, actually) to think out of the box and to see things using different lens. It taught me to defy limits and let nothing determine what I can and cannot do. It taught me to be imaginative, creative and spontaneous but at the same time focused and quick.

OrCom also taught me that the strength of my relationship with other people is greatly influenced by the value and respect I give them. That failure to maintain relationships and taking them for granted, will soon make them wither.

All in all, OrCom taught me to grow up.

Image

Thanks to Tatak OrCom team and God bless on your last months in UP. Make the OrCommunity proud! Also, thanks to PNU-CTL juniors for being so active, attentive and participative. May the odds be in your favor come UPCAT. 😉

Leave a comment